Skip to main content


Redrock Writers president Markay Brown has been named UTSPS 2019 Poet of the Year for her book Planted in a Storm, forthcoming in October and available by contacting Markay at



At the Utah State Poetry Society’s annual festival held April 21 and 22, 2017, eight poets from Redrock Writers chapter captured 40 awards in various contest categories. 

Poets honored with cash prizes and certificates included Bonnie Anderson, Markay Brown, Fae Ellsworth, Susan Foster, Candy Fowler, Barbara Funke, Sue Leth, and Pam Tucker. Markay Brown won second place in the book publication award category for her manuscript, Glass Wings.  For a complete winners’ list, click here


Redrock Writers depends on the voluntary efforts of Southern Utah writers who participate in our collective learning, write and read their poetry, and help organize and lead our regular activities. We deeply appreciate the contributions of members of UTSPS Dixie Chapter, the Utah State Poetry Society, the National Federation of State Poetry Societies, the Heritage Writers Guild and The League of Utah Writers. We also express appreciation to outstanding poets from across America who participate in blind judging our yearly contest.

Design Your Own Website, Today!
iBuilt Design Software
Give it a try for Free